1970 f250 camper special

Post progress reports on your project truck(s)

Moderator: FORDification

lloyd70cs

1970 f250 camper special

Post by lloyd70cs »

Hi everyone

I'm new to everything mechanical and automotive repair. I bought a 1970 f250 from a guy in North Vancouver, bc to teach myself and end up with a great truck. North Van is very wet but all in all the rust isn't as bad as it could be.

It didn't run when I got it but with some work it's going now. I've replaced the battery, solenoid, starter, plugs and wires, condenser. New filters and some fuel and brake lines. New master cylinder and brakes. Interior side I've replaced some switches and other parts that were missing entirely.

Here is the question I'm dealing with now. I'm driving it around short trips but I'm pumping out a lot of blue smoke. I haven't done anything related to timing or tuning with regards to adjustments so not sure if that would help. The previous owner included a cast iron 4 barrel intake manifold as well as chrome valve covers and gaskets with the truck. I was told he probably had these because he was lining up to replace the head gasket. What am i up against in tackling that job? Remember, I'm pretty novice. What would i need to purchase as part of that job? Heads? Exhaust manifolds? I'll take some pics and upload soon. I little wet today.

Lloyd
ddcrim

Re: 1970 f250 camper special

Post by ddcrim »

Timing, tuning or anything else won't help, short of a set of piston rings and a mechanic friend, or machine shop.
You may be a little over your head on this one. Sounds like the motor is ready for a rebuild. Most of these old trucks
are in the same shape.
lloyd70cs

Post by lloyd70cs »

Watching videos and looks like valve seals and new springs aren't too difficult with some air pressure and the special tool.
Ranchero50

Post by Ranchero50 »