Centrifugal Advance?

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

69-er

Centrifugal Advance?

Post by 69-er »

This is probably gonna be a dumb question as I have very little experience with Fords.

On a 67 240, does the distributor have centrifugal advance? All I see is the base plate for the points and condenser and where the vacuum advance linkage attaches to that. Is it underneath? I haven't had a chance to investigate further. I've never seen a distributor w/o centrifugal advance.
Ranchero50

Re: Centrifugal Advance?

Post by Ranchero50 »

See if you can rotate the rotor. If it moves and springs back then yes, you do have a mechanical advance. Most Fords do as it takes an earlier ignition as the revs increase for the peak cylinder pressure to happen at the correct time. No advance and the timing lags.
'70 F-350 CS Cummins 6BT 10klb truck 64k mile Bahama Blue

Contact me for CNC Dome Lamp Bezels and Ash Tray pulls.
sargentrs
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by sargentrs »

Yes, it's under the base plate that has the points/condensor mounted on it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Randy
1970 F100 Sport Custom Limited LWB, 302cid, 3 on the tree. NO A/C, NO P/S, NO P/B. Currently in 1000 pcs while rebuilding. Project thread: http://www.fordification.com/forum/view ... 22&t=59995 Plan: 351w, C4, LSD, pwr front disc, p/s, a/c, bucket seats, new interior and paint.
1987 F-150 XLT Lariat, 5.0/C6 auto.
69-er

Post by 69-er »

Thanks, I knew there had to be one somewhere! I'm wondering if the advance could be frozen, I don't remember the rotor being able to turn.
Ranchero50

Post by Ranchero50 »

As seen in the pic above, you can work on it if you can get the advance off and the timing plate as well. Those little screws needs soaked in some loosening juice for a couple days before trying or they'll break off.

69-er

Post by 69-er »

Thanks Ranchero!
69-er

Post by 69-er »