Changing rear gears in my 70 dually

Clutch, transmission, rear axle

Moderators: FORDification, 70_F100

w201028

Changing rear gears in my 70 dually

Post by w201028 »

Hey guys, I'll admit I did not do a lot of looking around here for a guide so please forgive me if this has come up a million times in the past. I would like to change out the 4.10 gears in my 1970 1 ton dually for something more highway friendly. I don't drive the truck to work at all anymore because its screaming going down the highway, and I feel bad treating my rebuilt motor like a high rpm generator.
I buy almost all my parts from rockauto and they have 3.54 gears and an install kit which claims to include shims, marking compound, crush sleeve and more that the instructions claim is needed. I read through the instructions but there are no clear pictures of the process and what seems like a lot of steps involving checking the mesh. I'm no rocket scientist but I am a good machinist and have successfully rebuilt many motors and transmissions, including the 360 and t-18 in my truck.
I've replaced the axle seals on the truck in the past, and I have some work to do with the wheels off anyway, so I may as well do all this at once and change the gears while I have it apart.
I'm almost certain its a dana 70, a friend and I looked up the number on the diff before, and I will definitely check it before I order parts. I think the weight was some astronomical number like 70000 lbs, but its certainly not a standard ford 9", and I think it has something to the tune of 12 or more bolts.
Could anyone give me a real world breakdown of what steps are involved, and can I easily do this with the rear axle on the truck? And is there anything special regarding the dually rear end?
Jacksdad
Blue Oval Fan
Blue Oval Fan

Re: Changing rear gears in my 70 dually

Post by Jacksdad »