Time to replace tires

Suspension, steering, brakes, wheels & tires

Moderator: FORDification

Clunker

Time to replace tires

Post by Clunker »

I have been putting this off for a few years now, but the almost-bald tires on my 1970 F250 have cracks in the sidewalls, so it's time to bite the bullet. Here's the question. Has anyone put 17" rims on their bump? Did it look like a kid was trying to make it look tough, or did it look classy?

My Xterra came with tires that I hate. It sounds like driving on a washboard, but they still have better than 90% tread, so I can't justify replacing them. However, turns out that they are the same outside diameter as stock on the truck, and they are E-rated. I'd seriously doubt I could hear that tread noise over headers and the trademark bump wind noise, so all I need is a set of 17" rims. Any thoughts?
1970 F250 CS: 360, RV cam, Edelbrock Performer 390 intake, Holley 600, headers, Pertronix II, Flamethrower coil.
colnago
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Time to replace tires

Post by colnago »

I guess my thoughts are that these trucks originally came with 16.5"rims, so what's another half-inch, and I had a Silverado that came with 16" rims from the factory, and it looked great with 17" rims. As long as you don't go crazy with rim styles, I think it would look fine.

Just mt two cents,

Joseph
"Sugar", my 1967 Ford F250 2WD Camper Special, 352FE, Ford iron "T" Intake with 1405 Edelbrock, Duraspark II Ignition, C6 transmission, front disc brake conversion.
Clunker

Post by Clunker »