Paint code on 71

Moderator: FORDification

illbill76

Paint code on 71

Post by illbill76 »

So as I am still learning some help would be appreciated. I have a 71, by the VIN manufactured in April. The paint code on it is a B. By the data there’s no B code listed for 71. The B code for is listed for 72 as Wind Blue. The PO said he had it repainted to factory color in the early nineties. So what’s the deal with the B code on a 71? Does this look like the wind blue to you all? I looked at another reference sheet and it looked more like the brook blue metallic.
[image]372[/image]
[image]374[/image]
basketcase0302
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Paint code on 71

Post by basketcase0302 »

"illbill76"]So as I am still learning some help would be appreciated. I have a 71, by the VIN manufactured in April. The paint code on it is a B. By the data there’s no B code listed for 71. The B code for is listed for 72 as Wind Blue. The PO said he had it repainted to factory color in the early nineties. So what’s the deal with the B code on a 71? Does this look like the wind blue to you all? I looked at another reference sheet and it looked more like the brook blue metallic.
[image]372[/image]
[image]374[/image]
Love the blue, (and the 71's). I'm guessing you've already seen this paint reference chart, (as you said doesn't have a "B" code)?
I'm still trying to find the section here I haven't accessed in a few years that had the "Ford Salesman brochures" that might answer your question. Maybe Randy or someone else can help you find that if I don't come back to edit with the link. I can say that in all my years of building / driving / restoring the bump era trucks I'm not sure I'd ever seen that color blue-maybe special order? :hmm:

Not listing it here either:

Did the interior code match up from this list and does the frame number match the VIN number?
http://www.fordification.com/tech/VIN71.htm
Jeff
http://www.fordification.com/forum/view ... 22&t=46251