71 F100 Lighting Issue

Charging, starting, lighting, gauges, HVAC

Moderators: FORDification, Thunderfoot

jeki2793

71 F100 Lighting Issue

Post by jeki2793 »

I bought a F100 yesterday and had a Taillight Issues which means I had none. I replaced the bulbs and it worked. I went out today and started the truck and drove off and noticed my headlights dimming in like a blinking pattern. I stopped the truck and noticed all the lights were doing it and I had no running taillights. I have Brake, Turn Signal and Hazard Lights on the rear just no running lights and the others are all blinking. I took out the driver side taillight because I noticed corrosion on it yesterday an cleaned and replaced it and all the lights worked till I started the engine and it started blinking again and lost the running lights on the rear. I am new to trying to work on a older vehicle and would greatly appreciate any help you all may offer.

:help:
sargentrs
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: 71 F100 Lighting Issue

Post by sargentrs »

First I'd check and clean the grounding points on the parking/tail/turn lights and housings. Next I would go ahead and replace the headlight switch and the dimmer switch and eliminate those gremlins right away. Testing the various circuits and such is tedious and time consuming. Cost you about $30 and take about an hour. Both are notorious lighting culprits. The last gremlins would be the turn signal switch or flashers. Before I tear into that, I'd do some serious troubleshooting but the others are cheap no brainers.
Randy
1970 F100 Sport Custom Limited LWB, 302cid, 3 on the tree. NO A/C, NO P/S, NO P/B. Currently in 1000 pcs while rebuilding. Project thread: http://www.fordification.com/forum/view ... 22&t=59995 Plan: 351w, C4, LSD, pwr front disc, p/s, a/c, bucket seats, new interior and paint.
1987 F-150 XLT Lariat, 5.0/C6 auto.
basketcase0302
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by basketcase0302 »

:yt: