Need help with ignition and alternator wiring.

Electrical and Wiring Forum Archives
ford_racer

Need help with ignition and alternator wiring.

Post by ford_racer »

Hello all. I am finishing the rebuild on the 360 in my 72 F100. Right now I am at the ignition and general rewiring part of the installation. For my ignition setup, I have the Pertronix Ignitor electronic ignition conversion and the Pertronix Flamethrower 40k volt coil. I am not an electronics expert (the only thing I know about electronics is that electricity is involved, that's how limited my knowledge is) and I have NOOOOO idea on how to wire up my coil and what not. I have the red wire connected to the positive side of the coil, and the black wire connected to the negative side of the coil (OK, I do know the red/black pos/neg correlation), and I believe that is how it is supposed to go unless I missed something. I would love some DETAILED instructions on how to set all this up

I know there are 3 wires (red, brown, and a red/brown) with the little connecting boots on the end, but I don't know where they go to. I don't know if the red one goes to the coil, red/brown to water temp, and brown to oil pressure or what. Once again, I would appreciate some instructions on where all these go.

The last dilemma I have is with the alternator. I have no clue on how to hook this up. There is a little orange connector dealy that I think connects to the alternator somehow, but I don't know exactly how. There are two places that are orange that it could hook up to, one with a nut and one without. There is also what appears to be a ground that I need to hook up to something. Do I need to hook this up to the block or what? Again, I would absolutely love some detailed instructions on this.