Front end not pulling.

Questions about 4WDs and related topics

Moderators: FORDification, Doug Comer

ROBT257

Front end not pulling.

Post by ROBT257 »

Well finally found some mud yesterday evening. It was fun for the first 1.5 seconds. Then we realized the four wheel drive was not working properly. I got out and double checked to make sure the hubs were locked. They were. Then checked to make the transfer case was tunring the front driveshaft. It was. But the front tires would not spin or appear to pull. The back right tire was the only one pulling until the back left finally broke loose in the mud and it would spin some. I guess its a limited slip. But the front should have spun right? I was thinking maybe the locking hubs are maybe not working? Whats the first step in checking to see what my problem is? FYI I am a novice but while try to tackle most any job that my tools allow.

Oh thanks to a pine tree being nearby and having the Ramsey helped me get out of the hole. But had to cut the trip short and that sucked!
heep70
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Front end not pulling.

Post by heep70 »

The pass side front should had been spinning. Yes, pull the hubs (both) and compare it to the diagrams Keith has listed on the home page.

If that ain't it and the front d-line is spinning then I would say pull the diff cover. Possible a bad R&P.
Greg

1971 F250 "Highboy". SOLD to "Highboy_Firefighter_71"
2000 Subaru Outback limited.
2000 F250 4X4 PSD SuperDuty Crew.
2010 Polaris 800RMK Dragon 155"
2013 Polaris Pro 800 RMK 163"
1980 Built Toyota "Trail Rig".
My last 1971 "Highboy" pics
mr_josh

Post by mr_josh »