Hello from Alaska

A place for new members to introduce themselves

Moderator: FORDification

RustedHistory

Hello from Alaska

Post by RustedHistory »

Hello everyone, my name is Austin. I am a 17 year old gearhead in Alaska, I own two 1971 Ford F250 Highboys. I've been using this website since 2015 when I bought my first '71. I bought the red Ford from a junkyard in 2015. It originally came off of a farm owned by a guy that abused everything he owned. It had been sitting since 1984. Originally a 300 inline six truck, but someone put a 360 in it somewhere along the line. I was pretty clueless about mechanics then, but I was up for the challenge. I worked on the truck all summer, going by this website, manuals, etc.. for help along the way. The truck needed a lot, I replaced the common parts such as points, rotor, cap, plug wires, etc. I ended up putting a whole new wiring harness in it out of a parts truck from the junkyard as the original was messed with and had wires twisted together with a piece of tape over it.. After a year of adding new and original parts to the truck, I got it running for the first time in over 30 years in 2016. The 360 purred, no issues at all with it. I got the original brakes pumped up again, put driveshafts in it, and drove it that whole summer around the gravel roads. That winter, I parked it for the winter and lost my input shaft seal. The spring of 2017 I pulled the transmission on my own, leaving the stick in it (I hate those NP435 spring loaded retainers.) I cleaned the transmission all up, replaced all gaskets and seals, and repainted it. The truck is close to being road ready now, I just did front wheel bearings last week on it, one drum was about to fall off because the spindle nuts came loose. Now, onto the green '71 F250. I traded a 1992 Dodge Dakota for the Ford in the summer of 2017. The truck was wrecked in 1991, and then was used to run a sawmill, the frame was shortened, and a long two piece driveshaft came off the transfe