NP 435 replace or rebuild?

Clutch, transmission, rear axle

Moderators: FORDification, 70_F100

Bsauls

NP 435 replace or rebuild?

Post by Bsauls »

Hi guys,

I have a 1970 F100 4x4 with Dana 21 transfer case and NP435 trans. 3rd gear has always been hard to downshift to even double clutching. 4th gear is a bit rough as well. So in your experience is it better to have the trans rebuilt or go with a rebuilt unit from a reputable source? IF so what source do you recommend?
sparky72

Re: NP 435 replace or rebuild?

Post by sparky72 »

What’s your level of mechanical competence? These old four speeds aren’t very tough to rebuild. I did one myself recently without having rebuilt a transmission of any sort before, and it was pretty easy, honestly. Of course, I had the luxury of time, too.
Taylor
1972 F250 Ranger XLT 2wd / 8100 GVW / 390 / T18 / 3.73 D60
Bsauls

Post by Bsauls »

I was a tech for 15years, mostly rebuilt automatics and no 4wd. I just don't have any space to work on a project of this size. No garage and I live in the sticks gravel,dirt and tons of pine needles.
cep62
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by cep62 »

If I'm correct the F100 4X4 used a 2wd trans with an adapter.maybe you could find a good used one.

Also are sure the clutch is completely disengaging?
sagging cab mounts can cause clutch issues.
these old trans don't shift like a new one , especially down shifting.
JoshT
Preferred User
Preferred User

Post by JoshT »

F-100s with the NP435 and Dana 21 (I think all F-100s used that config stock) had a "2wd" transmission instead of a "4wd" transmission. Only transfer case they can use is the Dana 21 without possibly sourcing another adapter or going to divorced transfer case. Reverse is same "2wd" NP435 is only trans you can use if keeping the Dana 21, not that there aren't plenty of them out there.